IIHF Women’s World Championship 2023: Schedule, results, TV channel to watch international hockey tournament

IIHF Women’s World Championship 2023: Schedule, results, TV channel to watch international hockey tournament

The best women’s hockey teams around the globe have gathered in Brampton, Ont. for the start of the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship. 

Canada enters the 2023 tournament as the defending champions, having defeated the United States in the 2022 gold-medal game.

Canada and the USA have dominated the event. The two North American rivals have faced each other in every gold-medal game with the exception of 2019 when Finland stunned Canada in the semis and lost to the USA in the final. Both countries have medaled at every event.

MORE: Watch the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship live with Fubo

The Canadians own the most gold medals with 12 and are looking to three-peat at the competition, coming off wins in 2021 and 2022. The team is led by captain Marie-Philip Poulin and features star players like Sarah Nurse, Brianne Jenner, Renata Fast and Ann-Renee Desbiens. 

The Americans have won nine gold medals at the Women’s World Championship, but have not won gold since 2019. The team turns to the crew led by Hilary Knight, Amanda Kessel, Taylor Heise and Lee Stecklein to right the ship in 2023. 

Here is everything you need to know about the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship. 

NHL PLAYOFF PICTURE: Updated standings, bracket, matchups & key dates for 2022-23 season

When is the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship?

  • Start: Wednesday, April 5
  • End: Sunday, April 16

The tournament begins on April 5 with the start of group play. That will run for a week until Tuesday, April 11. 

The playoffs will begin Thursday, April 13 with the quarterfinals. The semifinals will be held on Saturday, April 15 and the bronze- and gold-medal games will be played on Sunday, April 16.

How to watch the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship

  • TV Channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Live stream (U.S.): Fubo
  • TV Channel (Canada: TSN, RDS
  • Canada live stream: TSN.ca, TSN app

In the United States, only games involving Team USA will be broadcast on NHL Network. The network will have both semifinal games and the medal games.

Cord cutters can stream NHL Network through Fubo. 

Canadians can view games on TSN (English language) or RDS (French language). The network will carry every game with Canada involved game at the tournament, and select other games. 

TSN can be streamed on TSN.ca, through the TSN App and TSN+.

Where is the 2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship?

  • Cities: Brampton, Ont.
  • Venues: CAA Centre

This year’s IIHF World Championship is taking place in Canada, as Brampton, Ont. is the site for the annual international competition. 

All of the games will be played at the CAA Centre. It is the former home of the Brampton Battalion of the OHL and the Brampton Beast of the ECHL, two franchises that are no longer in operation. 

It is the first time Brampton has hosted the tournament. 

2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship standings 

Team Games  W-OTW-OTL-L PTS
USA 1 1-0-0-0 3
Canada 1 1-0-0-0 3
Czechia 1 0-1-0-0 2
Japan 2 0-0-1-1 1
Switzerland 1 0-0-0-1 0

Team Games W-OTW-OTL-L PTS
Finland 1 1-0-0-0 3
Germany 1 1-0-0-0 3
Hungary 0 0-0-0-0 0
Sweden 1 0-0-0-1 0
France 1 0-0-0-1 0

Group A features the top five teams at the tournament and all five will advance to the quarterfinals.

Group B features the bottom half of the group, where only the top three teams will make it to the quarterfinals and the bottom team in the group will be relegated next year to the Division IA tournament. 

The winner of the quarterfinals advances to the semifinals, while the losers will play a game to determine their final placement in spots Nos. 5-8. The winners of the semifinals will play in the gold-medal game, and the losers face off for bronze.

2023 IIHF Women’s World Championship schedule

Wednesday, April 5

Matchup Time (ET)
Finland 14, France 1 FINAL
USA 7, Japan 1 FINAL
Canada 4, Switzerland 0 FINAL

Thursday, April 6

Matchup Time (ET)
Germany 6, Sweden 2 FINAL
Czechia 2, Japan 1 (OT) FINAL
France vs. Hungary 7 p.m.

Friday, April 7

Matchup Time (ET)
Switzerland vs. USA 11 a.m.
Finland vs. Germany 3 p.m.
Czechia vs. Canada 7 p.m.

Saturday, April 8

Matchup Time (ET)
Sweden vs. Hungary 11 a.m.
Japan vs. Canada 7 p.m.

Sunday, April 9

Matchup Time (ET)
Finland vs. Sweden 11 a.m.
USA vs. Czechia 3 p.m.
Germany vs. France 7 p.m.

Monday, April 10

Matchup Time (ET)
Hungary vs. Finland 11 a.m.
Switzerland vs. Japan 3 p.m.
Canada vs. USA 7 p.m.

Tuesday, April 11

Matchup Time (ET)
Hungary vs. Germany 11 a.m.
Sweden vs. France 3 p.m.
Czechia vs. Switzerland  7 p.m.

Thursday, April 13

Matchup Time (ET)
Quarterfinal 10 a.m.
Quarterfinal 1:30 p.m.
Quarterfinal 5 p.m.
Quarterfinal 8:30 p.m.

Friday, April 14

Matchup Time (ET)
Placement Game 3 p.m.
Placement Game 7 p.m.

Saturday, April 15

Matchup Time (ET)
Semifinal 12 p.m.
Semifinal 4 p.m.

Sunday, April 16

Matchup Time (ET)
Placement Game 9 a.m.
Bronze-Medal Game 3 p.m.
Gold-Medal Game 7 p.m.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.